It’s not pink

DSCN0001 DSCN0002 DSCN0003So my friend Sarah found out she was having a girl and regretted sharing this as it led to many pink items.  I knew I was going to make something for her baby, but I hadn’t gotten around to deciding what.

Then a moment of brilliance came to me.  It would be related to Song of Ice and Fire (or Game of Thrones to people who focus on the TV series).  So asked her, who her and James’s favorite characters were.  For Sarah it was Tyrion, Brienne, and Hodar!  and for James Sandor Clegane and Ned Stark.  When I shared mine (Tyrion, Arya, and Bran), she said Arya and Bran were up there for her as well.  So I knew I could go with my idea of a baby direwolf, as there was a clear liking of the House of Stark.  I came up with this great idea, but felt it would be best to ask for assistance in the actual drawing of the direwolf.  So I called Anna up and she said so something along the lines of muppet babies?  Yes I said, so the next day I just had to look up the theme song and later that day when mentioning it to my friend Van, he could even sing part of the song from memory, which was enjoyable.

So Anna sent me an couple options, but she really nailed it with the one I went with.  It was too cute.

I then printed it out over several pages and taped it together.  I cut the wolf out of fur like DSCN0006gray fabric and placed it on the sewn together green and cream to mimic the Stark flag.  I added the eyes and nose, then I quilted it all together.   Sadly I didn’t think hard enough about the binding the first time and in this case, ended up with
 too thin binding, about a 1/4 inch.  So I went and got more.

I was so excited when I finished I had to 250px-House-Stark-heraldryshare Wolfie on facebook.  I knew Sarah might see, but felt she wouldn’t know for sure.  So I finally sent the quilt and when she got it she said that when she saw it on facebook she thought “if that is for me I will die of baby gift happiness”.  Which was the perfect thing to hear, to ensure a baby gift is well liked.

DSCN0005

This entry was posted in Sew Successful and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

