A murder of stitches

A murder you say?  Oh I mean you say, “a murder you say?”.  Well I was trying to be clever.  I think I may have succeeded, but I may just be deluding myself.  So I spent about 3 whole minutes trying to think of a title for my discussion of learning to crochet?  And to myself I thought, hey crochet could be mistaken for crow-chet.  So you put together crows and a stitch technique, a murder of stitches.  Yup may just be delusional.  Well I didn’t want to talk about being a hooker, so I did the best I could.

Now why would I suddenly take up crochet (see the difference from knitting here) when I just in the previous post was talking about limiting the number of projects and having deadlines.  Well I looked to my sister for advice in choosing the baby blanket design.  And she suggested argyle, and something about the appealedto me strongly.  The problem then was would I have an ugly side or not.  Because normally argyle is for socks and vests, both which only have one side that everyone sees.  But a blanket is different, and with a baby you might want to be able to use both sides.  So one pattern I found with both sides looking good was through double knitting.  I have already practiced double knitting for warm hats, so the only thing I worried about was how much more yarn it would use.  The second pattern I saw was done through crochet.  Since I am currently waiting for the yarn to arrive (I couldn’t order until I had an idea of how much I needed and that was difficult without know how I would work the design or how big a baby blanket is.  Seriously why is there not a given measurementlike for twin size quilts), I had time to see if crochetwould be possible within the time limit.  So I found the random crochet hook I have (I don’t know probably from my inheritence from my grandmother) and found some online videos.  I learned how to do three different stitches, including the one used in the pattern in Candy Tots.  So I now know I could possibly make the blanket this way, I just need to get to a library 19 miles away.  19 miles is much further when you think of the traffic congestion and that I have no car, but I may be able to work it.  But I’m not sure how I feel about the crochet look.  So I still have not decided.  This last picture is the stitch that would be used for the blanket.  Let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A murder of stitches

  1. karla says:

    i thought you knew how to crochet? i think if you can knit, you can crochet? my sister made quite a few crocheted blankets and i think they turned out nice, but it completely depends on the look that you want…

Leave a Reply

