A view to a …

… not so shabby looking bag.  Yeah from that view it does not look so bad.  A let Stacy choose the colors, so its not exaclty what I normally would have worked with.  The colors are found in the flag of Bolivia and many African countries.

So I do not know what of this project annoyed me, but somewhere along the way it got to me.  Maybe all the seed stitch.

I never picked up the number of stitches the pattern said to begin with around the edge.  I did follow the instructions, but ended up around 20 stitches short.  I thought no big deal, it will be a bit thinner.  Then I started the open mesh part once and could not get the pattern to work, it failed to jive.  So I pulled it out and tried again.  It seemed like it was working, and when I realized it had gotten off course again, I fixed it in the knitting.  So the mesh is not perfect, but I thought who cares, its a bag.  And I did that section round and round for more rows then it seemed it would take. 

Finally I get back to the seed stitch, who thought that would be a good thing.  And after I work all the normal rounds, I think oh for the placement of the handles I should see how many stitches I am off.  Somehow I am now off 40.  40!  Somehow I lost 20 more stitches.  But you see I needed to finish at this point.  I had realized that starting more projects without finishing some similar to treading in water.  Yeah I was doing something, but getting nowhere.  And I had agreed to knit a baby blanket for a coworker, so I needed to finish the bag before I would allow myself to start the blanket which has a deadline.

So I will finish by saying I have nothing against the pattern.  It is well written and well laid out.  The handle technique was clever, at least for me since it was my fist bag.  However, somehow I ended up with this.  Not quite as pretty as the BYOBfound on Knitty.  Don’t worry Court, yours will be done with care.

This entry was posted in Neat Knits. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A view to a …

  1. paula says:

    Is it a pumpkin bag or what??

  2. paula says:

    Hey Ashley, I now see that the bag is red and very nice. I think it was the drugs that made me see it differently earlier today.

  3. karla says:

    oooo, do i get a bag? (since i never got my sweater)

Leave a Reply

