After a hiatus of nothingness

So I have been neglectful, nothing more than that.  I have not been kidnapped and hung over a vat of glowing acid in the hopes of me spilling my knitting secrets.  I have not been whisked away by a handsome man to a place of frozen daiquiris and leisure.  I also not abandoned the life I currently lead, gained 500 pounds to join the circus as the fat lady (I don’t think its possible for me to grow a mustache and lets not even discuss my coordination).  Nope sadly I have simply focused my energy elsewhere.

One of the distractions was Courtney, Trey, and Karla came to visit.  Karla said I was lucky to be invited because this was their annual trip to DC, usually just the two of them.  I pointed out that DC is now my territory and to come without visiting me is rude and will have repercussions.  They may be tiny and inconsequential, like me thinking for 5 minutes bad thoughts about Karla stubbing her toe.  But there will be repercussions.  Also they had already brought Trey along, at least I can feed myself and do not make anyone carry me.  I’m not saying I would not if I thought I could get away with it, but I am aware of the restrictions placed on my laziness.

As you can see from the picture above (sorry Karla that is almost a profile shot, but you knew I was taking your picture), we went to the Jim Henson exhibit at the Smithsonian.  I just would like to say that he was amazing in all the things he did.  However, always the Fraggles will be my favorite.  We also went to the zoo and apparently choose nap time since we had a hard time finding many of the animals outside.

So to the crafting part of this post.  Guess what, more baby socks.  I’m sorry I was told that these would find a good home and my efforts would be rewarded.  This time I worked the socks toe up.  Toe-up cute that is.  Okay even I admit that was lame.  I used the pattern by Jessie Crum and the rest of the KPPPM used for the baby jays (only a foot left, talk about decreasing the waste).  Now the conundrum is that the socks vary in size.  I used the same needles and same method (I will explain why that is a factor).  I may have knit one while walking and carrying a book (what can I say I am amazing…in my dedication to reading and knitting and not being unoccupied).  So something needs to be done about that, but the pattern was easy and well written, so thanks Jessie.

This entry was posted in Neat Knits. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to After a hiatus of nothingness

  1. courtney says:

    It was animal naptime at the zoo, not Trey naptime 🙂 I will forward a pic of you knitting with your knitting book at the Metro stop to add to your blog.

  2. jessi says:

    I’m glad you liked the pattern 🙂
    Your socks are pretty, even if they are different sizes, lol.

  3. karla says:

    ha ha! it was fun seeing you and yes, thank you for not making us carry you and change your diapers! 🙂

    walking, knitting, AND reading? are you sure that is legal?

Leave a Reply

