How could you think that was trash?

Have I ever told you how much I hate bridal showers?  No?  Oh we must not have talked at one of the times I had to attend one.  I just hate the boring watching someone open gifts (same for baby showers), the stupid bridal shower bingo, and the fact that this means I have to buy two gifts for the bride.  I’m not overly upset at the last part, its just most of the time I have been on a budget.  From a joke that has started at work that is about 7 beers that I am out (calculation can vary depending on where you are drinking).

I’m not against marriage, but it may not be the right step for everyone.  The bridal shower that brings up this project is not the case.  I was very happy for my friend Ashleigh.  Ashleigh and I grew up across the street from each other and somehow still both went by our first names.  We have known each other since age 5.  So I was very happy that she had found someone she loved and wanted to spend the rest of her life with.  Since her wedding was to be at the beginning of December one of the favors to bring for the bridal shower was an ornament.

I decided to use the handy technique of quilling I had learned the year before.  For those who don’t know, (no judgments made) quilling is the technique of curing paper and with that and white glue making designs.  If you ask why I decided to learn this, I would blame the fact that my Aunt Paula (correct me if I am remembering the wrong aunt) made some ornaments or my parents.  I grew up seeing these neet creations and one day decided I would like to be able to do that.

So I of course could not find a bride and groom pattern that was deemed acceptable.  So I decided to find a picture and wing what the middle shapes would be.  I go through the painstaking process and am very satisfied with my finished product.

I was unable to attend the bridal shower because I had gotten my mother tickets for mothers day to Wicked.  So I left the ornament on the piano to remember to get a hook for it from that room.  I then proceeded to forget to make the effort to take that and the gift across the street trying to wait until Ash was home, eventually I left it with one of her sisters.  However one day when I went to do this, I was getting everything together and could not find the quilled ornament.  After asking my father and my mother, it turns out mom had thrown it away thinking it was trash.  My blood pressure still raises with the question how did you think that was trash?  An unanswerable question.

So I made it again.  Seriously, does that look like trash in anyway?

In other news a quick review of Nationals Park.  I got fireworks debris on me, that’s not what I define as cool.  It’s missing something, it looks just like the design of recent ballparks but fails to capture something of Washington.  The tv screens were not amazingly positioned on the 3rd level food area, the trash cans can definitely use better locations.

Quick review of my new friend Nick.  Awesome.

This entry was posted in Crafty Creations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How could you think that was trash?

  1. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

