Peacock through the cock ups

So I fell in love with this colorway at handpaintedyarn.com.  It’s called azul y limon.  I don’t see the limon, quizas signafican lima (for the non spanish speakers, “lemon, perhaps they mean lime”.  It’s a yarn that works itself thick and thin like manos del uruguay, malabrigo, and del sur.  Something that they like to make in South America.  Which could be North America if we flipped the map upside down like suggest on the West Wing Episode Someone’s going to Emergency, Someone’s going to Jail (which I watched earlier today and have New York Minute stuck in my head).  Sorry hope you enjoyed that tangent. 

So I love the colorway.  But then I have started seeing this guy and he said he wanted to take me somewhere special for Valentine’s Day.  I felt I should do something in return.  No only did it not work because as much as I knitted I also had other obligations (did I mention I gave myself only 2 days to do it?).  The ladies at work commented on how much I did knit and made sure the dinner was not based on finishing.  I said no, I have not informed him about it.  He does of course know I knit, because it came up when he was like how about this day and I said no that’s the night for the knitting group. 

So it did not get done in time.

Second problem came when I ran out of yarn.  I used two skeins.  When I finished the first skein I looked at the length and said to myself it should be long enough.  So I keep on knitting, guess what happens, the second part is considerably shorter (several inches).  So I look at it and think well lets try it, it will tie like a scarf but it doesn’t go much beyond that.  It looks stupidly short.

So then I think well getting more yarn from the original source has a flat shipping fee of 8 dollars and might not match considering the handpainting, also I would have to wait a week or more.  So I decide to check out a local yarn store and headed out in my zipcar.  The trip was fruitless.  Sometimes on the quest, the adventurer fails to slay the dragon.  It tuns out the shop is not open on Sunday.  Add this to my getting of the highway a exit early, then getting on to go a stop further in the wrong direction.  So then I call up two other shops to see if they had an adequate yarn to work in.  Success was found in the form of black del sur.

Full Peacock ScarfSo then I had to decide how to work it in, because doing the same diagonal knot stitch (that was another delay) just didn’t look right.  I finally decided to mix that with a drop stitch.  I think it helps mesh but makes the change in colors less jarring.  I have not yet decided on fringe.

 That is the tale of the peacock scarf. 

This entry was posted in Cold Weather Cuddlies, Neat Knits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

